top of page

The 12 Stages of Burnout

Responsibility/work/tasks described below are not just in professional life, but even in personal, family & societal life.

1. Excessive Ambition

The beginning of the process is often an obsession to prove oneself. They have a desire to prove themselves not only to the outside world, but also to themselves & have a difficult time saying "no" to extra responsibility

2. Push Yourself to Work Harder

Here, feelings from the first phase become exaggerated. In order to meet their personal high expectations, individuals take on more tasks they think they can handle.

3. Neglecting Personal Care & Needs

Because of the amount of work the individual has taken on, their schedule leaves no time for anything else other than work. The individual, therefore, neglects important daily activities such as sleeping, eating, & spending time with loved ones. The individual sees the situation as being normal & even comfortable.

4. Displacement of Conflict

More conflicts develop as events such as forgotten appointments or tardiness occur. The individual will find excuses for these mistakes & often will not own up to them. What's more, you'll find the first physical symptoms begin to emerge during this phase & the individual grows exhausted & worn out.

5. Changes in Values to Validate Self Worth

Now, the way the individual perceives their environment begins to change. Values, friends, family, & hobbies are dismissed & irrelevant as they become more focused on “completing their tasks”.

6. Denial of Problems & Blame

Individuals start becoming more annoyed & bitter. The individuals view the problems to be caused by time pressure, work & responsibilities, within personal & professional life & not because of life changes.

7. Social Withdrawal

Here the individual reduces social contact to a minimum & become isolated. Their spouse, family, & friends are seen as a burden rather than a support system.

8. Obvious Behavior Changes

At this point, nothing matters to the individual, & their lifestyle changes are more obvious & apparent.

9. Confusion of Identity

Now, the individuals feel a loss of contact with themselves. They neither see themselves nor others as valuable, & they don’t even perceive their own needs. They start to see their lives as meaningless.

10. Inner Emptiness

Here, the affected individual feels completely useless, anxious, & tired. To overcome those feelings, the individual seeks other activities, which are sometimes exaggerated.

11. Depression Sets In

This is an increase of the previous stage, the individual becomes depressed. He or she becomes indifferent, hopeless, & exhausted.

12. Mental or Physical Collapse

Physical, mental, emotional collapse occurs & the situation becomes an emergency.

No matter which stage you are in, you can break this cycle through 5 simple shifts of developing Awareness, going Within, taking conscious action, connecting to deeper Self and re-igniting/re-engaging with inspiration. IT IS TRULY POSSIBLE

bottom of page